SSO Subscription Concert: Mendelssohn Piano Concerto 1, Brahms Symphonies

Melvyn Tan, and Lan Shui
28 Jul 2017
Esplanade Concert Hall

Melvyn Tan returns as the soloist in Mendelssohn’s spirited First Piano Concerto, a centrepiece framed by the magisterial melodies of Brahms’ regal Third Symphony and the heartfelt poetry of Strauss’ Death and Transfiguration, depicting the passing of an artist as he relives memories and achievements, to reach the ultimate transfiguration of the soul.



  1. Lan Shui, conductor
  2. Melvyn Tan, piano



  1. R. Strauss
    Tod und Verklärung (Death and Transfiguration), Op. 24
  2. Mendelssohn
    Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25
  3. Brahms
    Symphony No.3 in F major, Op. 90