SSO Subscription: Tan Dun, and Farewell My Concubine

Tan Dun
20 Apr 2017
Esplanade Concert Hall

Peking opera meets the piano in Grammy-winning composer Tan Dun’s concerto Farewell My Concubine, which paints a tragic love story between warrior Xiang Yu and consort Yu. Symphonic poem Secret of Wind and Birds draws on forms and methods from East and West, ancient and modern, and incorporates birdsong produced by smartphones.

“A dynamic conductor” – The New York Times on Tan Dun



  1. Tan Dun, conductor



  1. Bartók
    Dance Suite
  2. Tan Dun
    Concerto For Piano And Peking Opera Soprano
    "Farewell My Concubine"
  3. Tan Dun
    Symphonic Poem For Cellphones And Orchestra
    "Secret Of Wind And Birds"
  4. Bartók
    The Miraculous Mandarin Suite, Op. 19: Suite